Manage Your Courses

Be sure to review our overview of Courses: Introduction to Courses

Once your Course is created, you'll need to manage everything that happens to it. This guide will show you how to enroll students, view Course activity, evaluate Student assignments, and grant or revoke Student access to a Course.

In this article

Using the Courses Page

The Courses page can be accessed through the dashboard by selecting Courses > All Courses.

The Courses page lists every Course in your account. From here you can create, manage, edit, clone, or delete a Course. These can be done through either the Bulk Actions menu or the Actions menu.

The Courses Page Bulk Actions Menu

The Bulk Actions menu allows you to make changes to multiple Courses at once. Check the boxes next to Course names before starting a bulk action. 

These options include:

  • Delete permanently remove Courses from your account
  • Quick Edit reassign the Instructor of the Courses to another Admin, and add a Course Category to the Courses

The Courses Page Action Menu

The Action Menu for an individual Course allows you to change multiple settings and access Course data.

These options include:

  • Edit will open the Edit Course page
  • Clone will allow you to clone the Course and create a duplicate of it
  • Delete will permanently remove the Course from your account
  • Manage Course will open the Manage Course page
  • Submissions will open the Course Submissions page
  • Activity will open the Course Activities page
  • Download Responses downloads a copy of Student responses made in an Evaluation Module

Using the Manage Course Page

The Manage Course page can be accessed by selecting Actions Menu > Manage Course, or by selecting the name of the Course on the Course page.

The Manage Course page will allow you to drill down into the activity data of all the Students taking your Course.

At the top of the Manage Course page is a Course Statistics bar, which displays Student progress at a glance. You'll be able to quickly see the number of Students who have not started, are in progress, or have completed this Course.

The Manage Courses Page Actions Menu

The Action Menu for managing an individual Course allows you to change multiple settings and access Student data.

These options include:

  • View Progress view the Course progress of this Student

View Activity view the Course Activities page of this Student

  • Download Certificate if they have completed the Course, download a copy of the certificate the Student received
  • Remove remove the Student from the Course
  • Reset removes all progress made by a Student in the Course and resets it for them
  • Revoke Access removes a Students ability to access the Course
  • Grant Access restores a Students ability to access the Course
  • Assign Certificate an Instructor can choose to assign a certificate to a Student even if the Course is not completed yet
  • Update Expiration Date changes the date when a Student can no longer access the Course
  • Switch To (Admin only) will grant an Admin access to view inside a Student's account

The Manage Courses Page Bulk Actions Menu

The Bulk Actions menu allows you to change settings for multiple Students at once. Check the boxes next to a Student names before starting a bulk action. 

These options include:

  • Reset removes all progress made by a Student in the Course and resets it for them
  • Remove remove the Student from the Course
  • Revoke Access removes a Students ability to access the Course
  • Grant Access restores a Students ability to access the Course
  • Assign Certificate an Instructor can choose to assign a certificate to a Student even if the Course is not completed yet
  • Update Expiration Date changes the date when a Student can no longer access the Course

Enrolling Students

If someone already has an existing user profile created, you can search them by name and add them to the Course by selecting Enroll Student. This can be done with more than one user at a time.

Bulk Enrolling Students

If you would like to bulk enroll a large number of Students, you can use the Bulk Upload option. If someone does not yet have a user profile, the bulk upload process will create one for them. 

Selecting the Bulk Enroll option on the Manage Course page will take you to the Bulk Upload Users page. Here you can upload a CSV file.

1

The file must be in CSV format. If you would like, a sample file is available to download on the Bulk Upload Users page.

2

The file must be formatted with the following header/first row values:

  • Email (mandatory) If the email address is already in use by a user profile, a new profile will not be created, but the student will be enrolled in the courses selected.
  • First_Name (mandatory)
  • Last_Name (optional) doesn't need to be filled in for the user.
  • Password (optional) doesn't need to be filled in for the user. If a password is not provided, one will be auto-generated for the Student to change later.
3
There is a limit of 500 Students that can be uploaded per file. If you have more than 500 Students, please separate them into multiple files.
4

Attach your CSV file by dragging and dropping, or click to upload.

5

You have the option of assigning the Students to a Group. This would automatically enroll Students in the Courses associated with that Group.

6

You can select one or more Courses to enroll your Students in once their user profiles are created.

View Student Course Activity

The View Course Activity button is found at the top of the Manage Course page.

The Course Activities page will give you a bird's eye view of all Student activity with this Course. You'll be able to see a timestamped event for every step a Student has taken within the Course.

You can search the activity log by the following events:

  • Enrolled
  • Started
  • Accessed
  • Completed
  • Submitted
  • Evaluated
  • Rejected
  • Retake
  • Achieved Certificate
  • Reset
  • Removed
  • Revoked
  • Granted
  • Updated Expiry Date

View Student Submissions

The View Submissions button is found at the top of the Manage Course page.

If a Student has submitted a response to an Assignment or Discussion Module for grading, it can be found on the Course Submissions page. 

Selecting Evaluate will take the Instructor to a page to review the Student's work and assign a grade.

Next Step

Now that you understand managing your Course, you'll want to add your Course to a Product so people can purchase and enroll in it. This guide will help you with those steps: