Add a Course to a Group

Before viewing this guide, please review these prerequisite guides:

Use of a group is ideal for selling Courses B2B. It makes it possible to onboard whole organizations or teams, instead of selling Courses to individuals. It also allows for clients to delegate Course and student management for the entire group to a representative of the organization or team, allowing you to scale up their volume drastically. 

A company representative can purchase a Product containing the Courses you want to sell them, and by selecting a larger quantity of Courses at checkout they will automatically be converted to a Group Admin and create their own group. They can then enroll students themselves into the available seats they purchased.

It's also possible to manually create a group, for example when you have a business structure in place that requires you to invoice your clients.

This guide will walk you through the process of manually creating a group, assigning a Group Admin, choosing courses and number of seats, and setting invitation links and referral codes.

In this article

The Groups Page

The Groups page is accessed by selecting Groups on the dashboard.

The Groups page will give you a bird's eye view of all the groups in your account. You can view the group name, referral code, Group Admin, and number of Students in each group.

You can also edit a group or manage the enrolled Students by using the Actions menu.

Group Admin Role

The Group Admin is assigned to administer the group. Once an Admin creates a group and adds Courses and seats to it, the Group Admin then oversees the addition and removal of Students from those seats.

Group Admins do not have permissions to access any other area of your account, they are only able to enroll Students in the select Courses provided. This is an ideal role for a company representative from a B2B sale to oversee their own employees' progress through the Courses.

Group Admins also have their own permissions to manage the Courses in their group and view Student activity.

Create a Group

To create a new group, select the Add Group button at the top of the page.

Add Basic Details

Group Name

The first step in creating a new group is selecting a group name. 

Referral Code

The referral code is necessary for Students during the sign up process.

Students must visit the invitation URL for this group and enter the referral code to successfully auto-enroll in the group and access its courses.

Group Logo

The group logo will display on the unique login page created for this group.

If selling B2B, you can add your customer's logo to the group, to personalize the experience for Students.

We recommend image dimensions of 350 px wide by 80 px tall in a transparent background, but you are free to use any sized image you believe looks best on the login page.

The file must first be uploaded to the Media Library, where it can then be selected for your group logo.

The Media Library houses all the uploaded files you use in your account. All uploaded files can be found here. 

1

There are two ways to access the Media Library. 

You may upload files to the Media Library through your dashboard by navigating to Assets > Media Library. 

Or, you can launch the Media Library directly from the Edit Group page by selecting Browse Media.

2

Inside the Media Library, you can add your image by dragging your file or selecting Upload Media.

3

Once the file has been uploaded successfully, it will be listed in the Media Library. You can then select it for use as your group logo.

Invitation URL Slugs

Groups are given their own unique invitation URLs, to help Group Admins invite Students and get them enrolled in the group so they can access the correct Courses.

1

The slug is auto-generated based on the group name, but you can edit the URL slug if you wish.

2

Group Admins can send the login URL slug to a current Student in order to enroll them in the group through that special login. 

3

If a Student does not yet have a user account, the Group Admin can send a registration URL slug with a referral code. This will allow the Student to create their own account and enroll themselves in the group.

Note

The referral code is necessary for a new user to register in a group.

4

Filling out the registration form will create a new Student user account and enroll them in the appropriate courses. 

Choose Contact Information

The group must be assigned to someone who will administer it. The user can be an Admin, a Group Admin, or a Student. If the user is a Student, their permission level will be changed to Group Admin automatically when they are assigned to administer the group.

Add a New User

You can choose to create a new Group Admin directly inside the Create Group page.

1

Fill in the form to auto-generate a new user account with Group Admin level permissions, and auto-assign this group to the new user.

Choose an Existing User

You can also choose any current user in your account to administer the group.

1

Select an existing user from the dropdown list to assign this group to them. If the user is currently a Student, their permission level will be changed to Group Admin.

Warning

If the existing user is a Student, their permission level will change to Group Admin and they will lose access to any courses they were enrolled in as a Student.

Add Courses and Seats

1

Finally, you may add the Courses to be included for this group, and the number of seats available to give out.

2

Existing Courses can be selected from the dropdown menu. You can select All Courses, or choose individual Courses to add to the group. 

Assigning Course Seats

1

A set number of Students can be granted access to the Course. This can be chosen in the Number of Seats field. Leaving the field blank will allow for an unlimited number of Students.

2

The number of seats will be selected by the Admin creating the group. The Admin can also edit that number at any time. Those seats will then be administered by the Group Admin. 

3

If there are 50 seats available, the Group Admin can invite 50 Students to enroll. Once the limit has been reached, the Group Admin can remove earlier Students who may have completed the Course, and open up seats to enroll new Students.